Milestones in Pursuit of Excellence: IIT Bombay Celebrates Foundation Day

Releases special commemorative photo- book, Alumni honour roll receive this years Distinguished Alumnus Award

IIT Bombay, India's leading institution in technology, celebrated its Foundation Day on March 12, 2009 at its institute auditorium. The ceremony commenced with a welcome address by Professor Devang Khakhar, Director, IIT Bombay highlighting key milestones reached in the Institute's Golden Jubilee Year.

Speaking on the occasion he commented that, “The Foundation Day is a landmark occasion to celebrate IIT Bombay's past, and embark on new initiatives as a fountainhead of ideas and innovation. Thanks to the outstanding achievements of our alumni all over the world, world-class faculty, students, and staff, IIT Bombay is today recognized worldwide as a leader in the fields of technology and science.”


Dr. Anil Kakodkar speaking at IIT Bombay's 50th Foundation Day

Chief Guest Dr. Anil Kakodkar, Chairman, Board of Governers, IIT Bombay, in his inaugural address mentioned that “IIT Bombay has done well to build up the academic, scientific and technological capability in the country and supported the industry. Since its inception, IIT Bombay has played a major role in innovation and technology through research with world-class faculty. The most befitting tribute to this feat is to take this vision forward for the benefit of mankind.”

Dr. Kakodkar also gave away this years Distinguished Alumni Awards and Faculty Awards to: Alumni - Dr. Ajit Keshav Ranade, Dr. Dhirendra Nath. Buragohain, Dr. Chetan Chitnis and Mr. Girish Jaywant Gaitonde and Faculty - Prof. (Ms.) Chandra Venkataraman, Chemical Engineering Department and Prof. Sambasivarao Kotha, Chemistry Department (details appended) for their contributions in their respective fields.

A fitting finale to the Golden Jubilee Year was the release of the book “Punctuations: A photographic journey through the IIT Bombay campus” by Prof. Khakhar and Dr. Kakodkar. Prof. Chetan Solanki, who along with Prof Raja Mohanty, was the key driver of the project pointed out that the book was an anthology of photographs and images, to capture the flow of life within the institute. In that sense, the book is an attempt to capture memories and pay a tribute to the institute's history.  

In addition, the Student editorial team of student magazines 'Insight' and 'Awaaz' also released special commemorative issues of the magazine as part of the Golden Jubilee Celebrations.

Distinguished Alumni Awardees

  1. Dr. Ajit Keshav Ranade, Chief Economist, Aditya Birla Group, India (B.Tech., Electrical Engineering, 1982). IITB presented the Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dr. Ranade in recognition of his being an outstanding Economist and his working tirelessly for public probity


Dr. Ajit Keshav Ranade receiving the Distinguished Alumnus Award

  1. Dr. Dhirendra Nath. Buragohain, Chief Technical Officer, Civil Engineering Network System, Pune (B.Tech., Civil Engineering, 1963, M.Tech., Civil Engineering, 1965, Ph.D., Civil Engineering, 1969, Ex Director, IIT Guwahati). IITB presented the Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dr. Buragohain in recognition of his  outstanding contributions to the nation through institution building and technology development

  1. Dr. Chetan Chitnis, Sr. Research Scientist, Malaria Group, International Centre for Genetic Engineering & Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi, India(M.Sc., Physics, 1983) IITB presented the Distinguished Alumnus Award to Dr. Chitnis in recognition of his outstanding contributions to research in the area of malaria vaccines

  1. Mr. Girish Jaywant Gaitonde, Founder & CEO, Xoriant Corporation, US (B.Tech., Electrical Engineering, 1983). IITB presented the Distinguished Alumnus Award to Mr. Gaitonde in recognition of his outstanding achievements as an Entrepreneur in the Information Technology Industry

The Chief Guest also gave away the Prof. H. H. Mathur Excellence Award in Applied Sciences instituted by Mr. Rakesh Mathur to Prof. (Ms.) Chandra Venkataraman, Chemical Engineering Department, in recognition of her outstanding research contributions in the area of Aerosol Science and Technology, which specially addresses Atmospheric Aerosols and Climate.

Also, Prof. S.C. Bhattacharya Award for Excellence in Pure Sciences was awarded to Prof. Sambasivarao Kotha, Chemistry Department, in recognition of his outstanding research contributions in the area of 'Expanding the diversity of unusual amino acid derivatives and polycyclic aromatics through strategic utilization of contemporary transition-metal-catalyzed transformations'.